20th Anniversary Events

This is a listing of actual and tentative events throughout the year including rehearsals. It's listed by month with comments about what still needs to be done by the committee. If you'd like to help with ANYTHING please let us know.

December 2017


PERFORMANCE at Alex Goolden Hall
Wednesday December 13 -
CHOIR PHOTO AT 6:15 - BE EARLY
Warm-up at 6:30pm
Carol Sing at 7pm - Concert at 7:30pm
COSTUME: Formal Black & Shiny — MAP

PERFORMANCE - The Cridge - 1307 Hillside Ave.
Wednesday December 20 -  warm-up at 6:45pm performance at 7pm
Christmasy Stuff — MAP

CHRISTMAS Pot-Luck PARTY following concert
Wednesday December 20
Elaine McVie's home - 2009 Corniche Place  
MAP

January 2018

NO REHEARSAL TONIGHT
Wednesday January 3

REHEARSAL
Wednesday January 10 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

FULL DAY MUSIC REHEARSAL (like Uplands)
Saturday  - 9:30am

REHEARSAL
Wednesday January 17 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

BEMA Play  - Prisoner of 2nd Avenue
Monday  January 15 - 7:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday January 24 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday January 31 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

February 2018

REHEARSAL
Wednesday February 7 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday February 14 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

CURLING NIGHT - CONFIRMED
Saturday February 17 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday February 21 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday February 28 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm


March 2018

REHEARSAL
Wednesday March 7 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday March 14 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

CHOIR RETREAT - March 17 & 18
Saturday (all day)  - Sunday (until after lunch)
Allison is organizing

REHEARSAL
Wednesday March 21 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

EVENING PARTY and PERFORMANCE with choir from Edmonton- March 25

REHEARSAL
Wednesday March 28 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm


April 2018

REHEARSAL
Wednesday April 4 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday April 11 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

CONCERT or POTLUCK DINNER with Starlight Pops choir - They are celebrating 10 years

REHEARSAL
Wednesday April 17 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday April 24 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm


May 2018

REHEARSAL
Wednesday May 2 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday May 9 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

POT LUCK BANQUET to celebrate 20 years CONFIRMED
Saturday May 12 - evening
Norway House on Hillside Ave.


PERFORMANCE
Wednesday May 16 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

REHEARSAL
Wednesday May 23 - 7:15pm to 9:30pm

DRESS REHEARSAL
Wednesday May 30 - 7pm to 10pm


June 2018

PERFORMANCE at FIRST MET
Friday June 1 - 7:30pm

PERFORMANCE at FIRST MET
Saturday June 2 - 2:30pm

CHOIR YEAR-END PARTY - CONFIRMED
Saturday June 2 after concert
Maarten  Schaddelee's home - 4635 Vantreight

July 2018

GOLF TOURNAMENT

Performance Costume Guidelines

WOMEN (2 possibilities)

CASUAL /RED - The overall impression should be solid black legs and feet from the audience point of view. 
BELOW THE WAIST

Black dress pants  OR long skirt

Black socks OR opaque tights

Black shoes (preferably closed toes—if not, make sure you have opaque black socks or tights to disguise that).

ABOVE THE WAIST

Solid crayon red tops with long sleeves.

NOT pinkish, burgundyish, coralish, nor should it have a print or another colour with it.  Solid colour true red only.

Think of the true red colour in a small package of crayons.

JEWELLERY

Smaller jewellery preferred—nothing huge or dangly.

FORMAL / BLACK SPARKLY OUTFITS

BELOW THE WAIST

Black dress pants  OR long skirt

Black socks OR opaque tights

Black shoes (preferably closed toes—if not, make sure you have opaque black socks or tights to disguise that).

ABOVE THE WAIST

Tops are black and sparkly

Sparkles may be sewn into the fabric OR you may wear something that compliments a black top with sparkles in it

The sleeves must be long

If your top doesn’t have full length sleeves, wear a cardigan or a jacket

JEWELLERY

Smaller jewellery preferred, with some ‘bling’ or sparkle

If you have any doubts, please contact Elwyn (250) 477-9365) to have a look at it.

 

MEN (2 possibilities)

CASUAL - Black dress pants (or as close to black as possible), black socks and black business style shoes, white dress shirt, tie with red (as close to true crayon red as possible) design.

FORMAL - Black tuxedo, white tuxedo shirt, black bow tie and cummerbund, black socks and black business style shoes.

 

Tuxedos are sold off on a regular basis by the tuxedo rental stores.  Second hand stores may also be a good source.

 

AS ALWAYS, SCENTED PRODUCTS SHOULD BE AVOIDED!

 

Arbutus Singers
Arbutus Singers

a

Arbutus Singers
Arbutus Singers